Board of Education

The Surry County Board of Education consists of a five member board elected at large by citizens residing within the Surry County School voting district.  The 2012-2013 members are as follows: Sexton Earlie Coe, Brian K. Gates, Clark G. Goings, Brian K. Moser, and Sue W. Stone.

The school board represents the people of the district as the legal body that establishes educational policies and sets goals and objectives for the district.  The superintendent and staff, under the board's direction, carry out these policies and goals.

Terms are for four(4) years and overlap to ensure continuity of board leadership.  School board members receive no pay for their public service, only travel reimbursement to school system functions.  The school board is accountable to you, the citizens of Surry County, and to the state and federal governments.

Regular meetings are held on the first Monday of each month in the board room, Surry County School System Central Administrative Office, 209 North Crutchfield Street, Dobson, North Carolina.  Board meetings regularly begin at 5:00 p.m.

Regular meetings are open to the public.  Copies of the agenda are available at the door and are available at least 24 hours in advance at the central administrative office in Dobson. 

Staff Development Except Surry Early College
Staff Development Except Surry Early College
Central Office Arts Celebration - North Surry High - 04/28/2014 thru 05/09/2014

Full Calendar »