• The Absher-Moxley Memorial Scholarship

    In 2011, Mr. Frankie Andrews and his family established The Absher/Moxley Memorial Scholarship through the Surry County Schools Educational Foundation.  It is named for Mr. Andrews’ two nephews, Matthew Absher and Brandon Moxley, who lost their young lives within a four-year period, due to the adverse effects of prescription drug addiction.  Mr. Andrews and his family wish to help educate youth about the dangers of prescription drugs.  Their goal is to help prevent others from following the same path as Matthew and Brandon.  


    The Carrie Elmore Award

    For her senior graduation project in 2011, Courtney Scott established The Carrie Elmore Award.  Courtney’s cousin, Carrie Elmore, was a student at Central Middle School.  She passed away in October 2012, at eleven years old, after battling Ewing Sarcoma since the age of five.  The Carrie Elmore Award consists of $500.00 to help grant the wish of a K-8 Surry County Schools’ child who has a chronic or terminal illness.